2 4 6 8 Vote for Love not for Hate.

15 11 2008

Champagne, has, on occasion, led me to make some decisions that while extremely fun at the time were ultimately uhm unwise.

Like say… agreeing to play strip poker on the millennial New Year’s Eve after drinking a couple of bottles of champagne and then proceeding to tell everyone which cards you had and what your strategy was.
And by strategy I mean, “Go Fish.”

Unwise.
But fun!
Though oddly chilly.

Anyhoods today champagne led me to the Prop 8 Protest at City Hall this afternoon.

Girlfriend and I went with a nice group who, while understanding the importance of our presence and the presence of other protesters, brought a welcome sense of levity to the situation.
By the time we got there the weather had turned far more threatening than the police officers (some of whom were taking pictures with the protesters) but the atmosphere was buoyant. We amused ourselves by pointing out the clever signs (and cute boys) that we liked.

[Note: I am super good at scoping out cute gay boys. I don’t think that I can call it cruising because I think that it’s pretty clear that boys aren’t the ocean liner I want to lose my lunch on and I try not to do it when straight boys are involved because well, I don’t think I’m flirting, but they always do and it’s so tedious to have to explain that the very fact that I’m a lesbian means specifically that I don’t want them to watch.
But put me in a crowd of gay boys and I am totally at home. Plus it’s a great way to get a gander at some Fashion Do’s.]

The sound system on our side of Broadway wasn’t very good but we filled in the gaps in sound with our own pithy comments.

Like this one.

not-gay-as-in-happy

We here in the Baby Power Dyke and Redheaded Stepchild household believe in marriage equality, the separation of Church and State, Change, a more perfect union and that no one has the right to make us second-class citizens.

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 11 2008
helen boyd

damn, i should have gone with you guys after Betty’s foot was hurting. nice to hear the coppers were friendly.

16 11 2008
johnbisceglia

The U.S. government crossed a VERY serious line with PROP 8.

This “proposition” threatened children’s sense of safety and belongingness in California. Children’s safety.

Regardless of THIS particular fight, there are way too many fights on way too many fronts for us to conquer piecemeal. The Time is Now – DRAW A NEW LINE in the sand and demand from President Obama and our representatives FULL EQUALITY.

Equality Is Simple When You Simply Include Everybody.

What? Not detailed enough for the lawyers?

OK, we can list repealing DOMA, repealing DADT, include transgender in the ENDA Bill, allow adoption of abandoned children, equality in immigration issues, recognize our hate crimes as such, equal family/children rights……….whew! See what I mean?

We are EQUAL SOULS in HUMAN BODIES. Could we please STOP discriminating due to the genitalia attached? Plumbing will determine each civil right?! Any separation from the pack is ultimately due to gender (and/or gender roles & stereotyping), and that is SEXISM. I cannot marry Bob because I am the “wrong” gender; if I were a woman I could marry Bob. SEXISM.

And I cannot stress ENOUGH how my own suffering from Marriage Inequality is NOT the reason for wanting or needing equality. I am not something to focus on. But my story, and the stories of countless other Americans desperately need to be addressed in this civil rights struggle. Marriage laws were put in place many years ago in order to PROTECT individuals and their FAMILIES; if they were NOT necessary they would not exist (for heterosexuals). When these laws are NOT in place for ALL OF US, horrible, horrible suffering occurs. My WEBSITE has many examples.

So Americans want to continue denying us what they have already deemed as essential. And many people want us to WAIT…2….5……10…….20……..30 YEARS, depending on the “civil right”, for what WAS and IS our birthright.

I personally have a HUGE problem with that. I cannot wait. I will not wait.

Will you join me on Wednesday, April 15th, 2009, and help me inform the government that WE are eager to be included in the federal tax base as soon as THEY include us in society’s laws? My 5-year-old students could understand this concept: EQUAL = EQUAL

As Americans can’t we agree that there are MANY other important issues to address (like the Economy, Education, Health Care, Poverty & Homelessness, Iraq/Afghanistan…all of these are related), and solving THOSE problems is more urgent than having “Equality Issues” TIE UP THE COURTS for another 30+ years? We will NOT go away.

You keep procreating; we keep popping out. Sorry.

Our representatives have spent years inventing 4-letter words (DOMA, DADT) to restrict us, deny us, demoralize us, and harm our beloved families and children. Enough is enough.

NO MORE. NO MORE.

=======================
The National Equality Tax Protest
– Wednesday, April 15th, 2009 –
=======================

17 11 2008
Baby Power Dyke

@ Helen
You should have!
It was super fun and then we went to Chelsea to celebrate.

I really loved seeing the protest signs in the swank bars in Chelsea.

17 11 2008
Baby Power Dyke

@ John,
Thank you for your comment and your decision to take a stand.
We all work in our own ways and I’m glad to see someone put Civil Disobedience to good use.

-BPD

12 12 2008
play games

Trackbacks Trackback URL for…

Leave a Reply

