It’s all fun and games until someone gets married.

21 10 2009

So it occurred to RHS and I on Sunday as we were shoveling awesome breakfasty goodness  into our mouths having a nice Brunch Date to belatedly celebrate our 5 years of being a Team [That’s how we think of ourselves, as a Team. We even have a team name and a secret handshake.  That’s okay.  Take a moment.  It will still be true when you re-read it.] that we were less than a year away from our big come and celebrate the permanence of our relationship and bring us presents¹ party.

So yeah, we’re wedding² planning.

I know that this will be a surprise, but… I have not been planning my wedding since I was a little girl.  I’ve been planning it, seriously planning it, since Sunday.

RHS and I made lists and talked about options and made more lists and suddenly it occurred to me that I might end up with one of those god-awful wedding binders and began to panic a little bit, but then I calmed myself down by telling myself that if I had to have a wedding binder then I’d have to buy a new wedding messenger bag to carry the binder and that and the Bloody Mary made me feel a lot better.  That, and the thought that a god-awful wedding binder is kind of a tiny cost to pay to get hitched to RHS.

So yeah… wedding planning.

This means that every now and then there will be a post about the planning stages.  Posts like, Why can’t we just throw your ethics out of the window so that I can have that nice diamond ring, hunny?  Or the inevitable: People need mini-cheeseburgers more than they need crudites.  It’s a fact.

I hope that you (and RHS) can bear with me.

.

.

.

.

¹Go look at the loading graphics of KitchenAid.com.  Those are kind of dirty, right?

²Maine has a big vote on Question 1 coming up.  Get out the word to your friends in Maine to show up and vote NO on Question 1 on November 3rd.

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 10 2009
CKHB

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Hee. I have an extra wedding binder in the basement. I’ll send it to you if you like, and then you can at least say that you didn’t PAY FOR a wedding binder.

23 10 2009
Baby Power Dyke

@ CKHB
As much as I was kvetching about a wedding binder, I am a sucker for any excuse to go into an office supply store and go shopping.
I have a secret not-so-secret love of binders. I have a whole collection of them from shows that I’ve stage-managed.

23 10 2009
Justine Larbalestier

Congratulations. How wonderful. W00t!

(I was married without any wedding binder.)

Also: meat before wheat. ALWAYS.

23 10 2009
Baby Power Dyke

Hee! Meat before wheat.

I am going to steal that and put it on a t-shirt!!

Leave a Reply

