All of these presents and I don’t even have my tree yet.

8 12 2009

Kwannukahmas time is here.

Time for Christmas trees, Unity and awesome menorahs.

AWESOME!

The tree in Rockefeller Center is looking fantastic and my prune-dried soul is filling with Seasonal Feelings of goodwill.

I dedicate this tree to a certain Mr. Charles Brown

After-all, it is the time of giving.

And boy, has the Universe provided.

Yesterday, OOMFPAWWIHFOAMFOY, told me about Glenn Beck’s Christmas Sweater.  The “Glen Beck Experience” in which how he recounts how he was an ungrateful, hateful little asshat of a boy and crushed his poor mother’s heart (on Christmas no less) and then she died.  Now he’s telling his story to illustrate his redemption and his faith and to show us, the great man that he’s become.

This story…

Created this man…

Seems about right.

Last night though, my girlfriend, Rachel Maddow, Ph.D. (Doctor Maddow to you), gave me the best gift of the season.  [Wow, that sounds kind of dirty when you re-read it.  Go ahead, re-read it.  I will wait.]

Anyhoods, there was dancing with shades and a disco ball.  There was insightful news making and there was the sheer and utter delight that is Rachel Maddow.  The whole episode is genius.  But what really brought it home for me was the “I guess I’m racist” ad.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Thank you anti-health reform wingnuts for building this beautiful new toy in your workshops of terror.

You should watch Doctor Maddow’s clip for some very incisive commentary from (my other girlfriend who’s not Ana Marie Cox) Professor Melissa Harris-Lacewell.  [Another gift.]

The whole add for your chortling pleasure.

Here’s the thing.  If I was watching the television, as I am want to do, and I looked up and saw a majority of white faces¹ telling me that they were racist, I’d say, “Of course you are.  Now how do I get back to that other channel, I need to see if the Cowboys are going to win this game?”  “Or.  Okay, I hope you’re not interrupting my Fringe with this mess.  Because if you’re interfering in my deep and meaningful relationship with Olivia Dunham we are going to have words.”

What I mean is that I wouldn’t be surprised.  I’d be annoyed that you were using your white-privilege to disturb my sacred TV time to tell me, but… you’re a racist, you obviously don’t care about the wants and desires of little ol’ X-Files missing me.

In words of my very astute friends: If someone tells you about themselves, believe them.
I believe  you racists.

.

.

.

.

¹And seriously, two black dudes and dude of Asian Pacific Islander decent.  I know it’s hard finding work as an actor and all, but… did you know what you were signing up for?  I mean, we’ve done our share of bad shows/movies/plays what have you.  But seriously?  We have all done things that are going to get us kicked out of our respective clubs.

I’m just saying… Black Dudes… be on the look out for operatives from SCAN.

Actions

Information

5 responses

9 12 2009
revolutionsheep

I wish I had the strength to get through that interview, but I can’t. I got just past the same bogus fucking study that has been quoted and discredited dozens of times, and then I had to stop. I have such enormous love and respect for Rachel Maddow that she stood up (figuratively speaking) and shredded that guy to pieces.

As for the ad, wtf. I love “I guess there are a lot of racist people in this country.” Well, yes. There are. Also, racist structures which create disparity in healthcare for the poor, the non-white, and the female (among others). Melissa Harris-Lacewell was excellent. I’ll have to track her work down.

Oh, and hi, by the way. I’ve commented once before, though I don’t think it was under this name. I adore the blog!

-Kate

9 12 2009
Baby Power Dyke

@ Kate.
(waves) Hi.

Didn’t Melissa Harris-Lacewell just put her finger right on the button? I just love how clear she is.

Don’t even get me started about the hugging ex-homo. Too.much.to.parody! What a sad, misguided individual. He’s not just “ex” gay. He’s ex-sane, ex-credible and ex-honest with himself, his wife and his children. Talk about a threat to marriage.

9 12 2009
Ellen

That ad is terrifying. Melissa Harris-Lacewell is amazing — I’m thinking of taking a road trip to Princeton to find her and meet her. Wait, that sounds terrifying in its own right. I’ll stop.

PS – love the blog 🙂

9 12 2009
Baby Power Dyke

@ Ellen.
The ad

    is

terrifying but your desire to take a road trip to meet Melissa Harris-Lacewell is not. You can pick me up along the way.
Seriously though, whenever I consider returning to school Princeton floats to the top of the list on the intellectual starpower of Professor Harris-Lacewell alone. And then I think about how I’d just make such an idiot out of myself in her class and that she’d eventually stumble across this blog and be really creeped out and then I’d have to withdraw from her class in disgrace… Uhm. I guess I’ll stop now. 🙂

9 12 2009
Rebekah

When the commercial began I thought it was a joke. I’m still almost convinced that it’s a joke, but probably mostly as a defense against the knowledge that it may not be a joke. I will continue to delude myself, though, so as to spare my brain.

What made me chortle most, though, was the use of “total government takeover” … again. I understand that having a system that controls all of your life, and which is headed by people you may not (indeed, probably don’t) like, trust, or respect, is terrifying – but it’s not like a vote for Obama is a vote for Big Brother (like he even cares about your opinion, anyway). It’s also depressing that most of the people opposing public health care by way of claiming it’s the government controlling too much of your life are those who are vehemently opposed to gay marriage and rights to abortion, because those, obviously, don’t count.

Leave a Reply

